Steering Board

KCourtney Cropped
Katherine Courtney (chair)
Katherine is a NED, strategic advisor, and former CEO of the UK Space Agency with over 30 years’ experience of business start-up and expansion in the UK, Europe and other geographies. In her executive career she developed new ventures for Cable & Wireless plc, British Telecom and a series of international tech start-ups. As a senior Civil Servant she led several landmark tech-enabled transformation programmes for the UK Government. She’s also the founder of SpaceSouth – an initiative to grow the South Coast space economy - and PrimarySpace – building STEM engagement for primary school teachers and students.
John Zarnecki
John’s experience of space includes sounding rockets, Earth-orbiting and interplanetary missions at British Aerospace, University of Kent and Open University, including HST, Giotto to Halley’s comet and Cassini/Huygens to Saturn & Titan. He was President of the Royal Astronomical Society and member of national and international bodies, including Chair of the UKSA Science Programme Advisory Committee.  He holds awards from NASA and ESA and was an inaugural winner of the Arthur Clarke Award in 2005. Retired from the Open University, he chairs ESA’s Space Science Advisory Committee and was a Director at the International Space Science Institute in Switzerland.
Version 2
Matthew Stuttard
Matthew Stuttard is currently head of space systems engineering Technical Strategy and R&D for Airbus in the UK. Previously for Airbus he was the Advanced Space Concepts Architect and head of Future Programmes in Science and Planetary Exploration. Before Airbus he worked for several companies including CGI on satellite imaging applications and geospatial information systems.
Matthew Bold
Matthew has worked at Lockheed Martin’s Advanced Technology Center (ATC) in Palo Alto since 2006. He is the lead architect for ground based SSA/STM systems and the program manager for the Space Security Department. He leads operations at the Lockheed Martin Space Optical Test (SPOT) facility in the Santa Cruz Mountains of California, is the program manager for the FireOPAL SSA sensor program and serves on the Research Committee for the Space Environment Research Centre (SERC) in Canberra Australia. Matthew is also the chair of the Edinburgh Global Space Traffic Management Workshop.
Allan Peter 16EC2196_small
Peter Allan
Peter Allan’s research background is in quasars, active galaxies and cosmology. He gained a PhD in astrophysics from the University of Manchester in 1980, following which he worked abroad at the University of Leiden in the Netherlands, and at Kitt Peak National Observatory in Arizona. He has worked on software systems for astronomy and Earth observation for 35 years, contributing to space missions such as GERB (with EUMETSAT) and Gaia (with ESA). He led the Space Data division at the Rutherford Appleton Laboratory from 1999 to 2015, before becoming acting director of the Hartree Centre at the Daresbury Laboratory from July 2015 to April 2016. In 2014 and 2015, Peter was involved in the establishment of the EU SST programme, representing the UK Space Agency at meetings with the European Commission. Peter is currently an STFC Honorary Scientist.
Rick Greenwood
Rick joined Airbus in 2003 overseeing the Skynet 5 spacecraft and ground systems build, launch and operations phases. Rick is currently Head of CIS Milsatcom and SC Engineering, and the Programme Director for Skynet 6A responsible for the current Skynet satellite fleet and the development of the Skynet 6 future system architecture.

Rick started his career in the RAF, with his last posting as the Skynet 4 Chief Instructor. He then held various space operations and engineering posts including the Ulysses mission at JPL, the commissioning and operations of new Eutelsat F2 satellites, and with the UK Defence Research Agency, working on the STRV, Skynet 4, and Skynet 5 Programs.
Ian McCrea
Ian McCrea’s research background is in ionospheric physics, with his PhD (University of Leicester, 1989) focusing on energy deposition and dissipation in the Earth’s upper atmosphere. He joined the Rutherford Appleton Laboratory in 1991 and became head of its UK EISCAT Support Group in 1996, establishing a long heritage as a support scientist for ground-based instruments. In 2013, he became Deputy Head of the Space Physics Division and when the division was amalgamated with the former Space Data Division in 2015, he took over as head of the resulting new Space Physics and Operations Division. He has had a long working association with the EISCAT Scientific Association and has chaired both its Council and Scientific Advisory Board. He has also been chair of MIST Council and the URSI Incoherent Scatter Working Group, as well as being a member of the NCAS Science Strategy Board and the NERC peer review college. In addition to upper atmosphere physics he has strong interests in space weather and in the radar tracking of space debris.